If you'd like to know more about WASACRE, what it stands for and why it is here, the following documents may be of interest:

If you don't have Adobe Reader for PDFs, get it here for FREE.

Get Adobe Reader here for FREE


Central to the work of WASACRE are the Association’s main termly meetings, which are attended by representatives from the 22 SACREs in Wales. The meetings provide an effective forum for presenting, discussing, and responding to issues of relevance to religious education and collective worship in Wales. The work of the Association is also supported and enabled by an Executive Committee which meets three times a year, usually prior to the Association’s main meetings.

The WASACRE Executive Committee currently comprises:

  • Revd Edward Evans (Chair, Bridgend)
  • Ms Alison Lewis (Interim Acting Vice Chair, Swansea)
  • Vacant (Immediate past Chair)
  • Ms Paula Webber (Secretary, RCT)
  • Ms Libby Jones (Assistant Secretary/Welsh Government Liaison Officer,
  •       Wrexham, representative from NAPfRE)
  • Mr John Mitson (Treasurer, Powys)
  • Mr Matthew Maidment (Rhondda Cynon Taf)
  • Mr Huw Stephens (Newport)
  • Revd Dr Tania ap Sion (Wrexham)
  • Ms Kathy Riddick (Blaenau Gwent)

WASACRE representatives on other committees:
  • EFTRE (European Forum for Teachers of RE): Ms Gill Vaisey
  • Inter Faith Network for the UK: 
  • RE Council for England and Wales: Ms Gill Vaisey, Paul Webber, Tania ap Sion